Dawn At Your Service’s Blog

The Twitter Craze

Photobucket

Every time I turn around I see another article, blog, seminar, teleseminar, webinar and even television news clips about using Twitter for  business. I have heard several success stories so of course I jumped on the bandwagon. I’m all about Web 2.0 and social marketing.

For those of you who are not familiar with Twitter, it is a social networking website where you chat (proper term: micro-blog) with other users that you follow and whom follow you. There is a limit of 140 characters so you have to keep it short and sweet.

I have been on Twitter for roughly 2 months. I think I have finally got the hang of it. I use TweetDeck which is an application that splits up the messages of people you are following, people who are responding to your tweets and direct messages you receive. I find it is easier to manage when the information is broken down.

Now who do you follow?

You follow people who may provide interesting tidbits of knowledge or information.  Just search on a keyword or phrase and there is no doubt you’ll find some interesting characters to follow. As you know I’m an SEO nerd so I follow people like Matt Cutts (a big dog at Google) and other SEO experts. I am a woman entrepreneur and like following other successful women to exchange thoughts and experiences throughout the day. I follow all different types of people mostly related to my professional industry. I do not follow everyone whom follows me. I review their profile and website to determine whether or not I am interested in following them back. If their website appears spammy or is a get rich quick site, I do not follow back.

Who would want to follow you?

I still ask myself that question daily. I don’t know why in the world anyone would care what I do! LOL Especially since I pretty much do the same things daily. But since I have amazingly gained 136 followers, I try to come up with something appealing to say. If I read something interesting, get stuck on a project or eat a bad piece of meat (yikes!) I tweet about it.

PROS of Using Twitter

Stronger Relationships: So far I have not retained any new clients from Twitter. Although, I feel a more personal level developing in the relationships I have built with people I know from forums. I see their regular posts of activities and experiences daily. I tweet back and engage in a chat type conversation. I am building and strengthening my relationships with other small business owners, gaining trust and credibility.

Gained Knowledge: A few weeks ago I was able to hear 1st hand from Matt Cutts the juicy details of what was going on at the Search Marketing Expo (SMX) in California. I would have loved to attend that expo!  Reading up-to-date tweets from an influential attendee gave me a slight feeling of involvement.

Sometimes people post inspirational, goofy or informative messages. I find it enjoyable to interact with interesting people from all over the world throughout my day.

Increased Visibility: Every time I submit a new post via Twitter, it appears to all of my followers who are on Twitter at the time. The more they see my face, the more they will recognize me and get to know who I am and what I do. I often post assignments I’m working on to give people an idea of the type of work I do as a Virtual assistant. Basically, it is a way for me to publicize my services without sounding pushy.

My profile and engagement on Twitter has brought traffic to my website. More traffic is good!

Many social networking sites are now adding a Twitter feed. For example, Facebook has a feed application. Every time I submit a post on Twitter, my status on Facebook gets updated. When status is updated, it appears on my Facebook friends’ profiles, which all of their friends can see. This may sound confusing if you are not familiar with Facebook. But the point is, the more people see your face the more you will be remembered. Especially if your content is memorable!

Cons of Using Twitter

Time Consuming: I find using Twitter to be very time consuming and slightly distracting. I’ve had TweetDeck up while writing this blog and I can’t tell you how many times I’ve stopped to engage in conversation. I obviously wouldn’t have TweetDeck up while on a client’s dollar, therefore when I have a full workload, I do not have time to tweet. I wonder how so many self-employed professionals manage to find so much time to spend on Twitter. I know some VA’s who offer it as a service, but it kind of defeats the purpose of genuineness and building relationships. Of course if a client wanted me to post a number of superficial tweets for them I wouldn’t mind doing it. I personally just don’t see it being as effective.

Safety Issues: This is something I have not seen explored publicly yet. I am sure it has been; I just have not come across any information regarding safety concerns. Perhaps it is my previous law enforcement training in my career as a dispatcher or I just watch the news way too much, but there really should be more attention focused on safety using Twitter.

A majority of Twitter users post personal things such as what they are doing, where they are at, where they are going, who they are doing it with, when and so forth. I’m guilty, I supply the same information. If a serial killer wanted to hack me up, it wouldn’t be too difficult.

There are also a lot of Twitter Meet-Ups including vacations and cruises. I think it’s a really cool and fun idea, but what about the potential risks? I hate to say this and sound negative; the truth is we live in a scary world. I won’t get into the types of things I have seen in training or on the job. Just keep in mind that sick people exist all over the world (especially cyberspace) so be cautious!

For more information on using Twitter for business, check out this informative article written by Zeke Camusio Twitter Marketing – Using Twitter to Promote Your Business

Another Good Resource written by C.G. Lynch: Twitter: How to Get Started Guide for Business People

February 26, 2009 - Posted by | Marketing

3 Comments »

  1. […] and status updates on networking sites, that there are psychos EVERYWHERE! (I recently wrote a blog about the Twitter craze and touched on safety issues.) Most of us are guilty of putting it all out […]

    Pingback by Facebook news - Virtual Assistant Forums | March 4, 2009 | Reply

  2. Great post! The safety issues are a con. I noticed a few tweeters advise each other not to even include their twitter links on their blogs. Some people may give too much information, and others don’t realize that their personal information is readily available.

    One major downside of twitter is that conversations are easily seen on google and for people who are familiar with Facebook and other networks that have locked conversations, they don’t realize this fact.

    Otherwise, I find it to be a great social networking tool.

    Comment by Cheryl | March 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks for reading Cheryl. I agree that some conversations should be saved for IM or DM!

      Comment by dawnaturservice | March 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

