Dawn At Your Service’s Blog

Relaxation Maintains My Sanity

Relaxation photoWorking from home, staring at the computer 8-10+ hours a day, managing a family, running a household and working part time on the weekends can really put my brain on overload! Sometimes by the end of the day I almost feel as though I hear a sizzling sound in my mind.

I have a ton of responsibilities and obligations, but it is mandatory I take at least 3 days a month off! (Yes, I should probably take more. At this point though, 3 have been rejuvenating enough.) When I refer to “days off”, I’m talking about not going to my parents for dinner, no laundry, no cooking dinner and NO COMPUTER! I don’t necessarily have to be a couch potato (although that is what I usually do), but allow the brain a little time free of major stimulation. Give the poor organ a rest during consciousness every once in awhile!

In addition to taking days off free of responsibility, it’s also imperative to take time for yourself. As a parent I know how impossible that seems. Most of the time I have a small someone handing me the toilet paper when I’m using the bathroom. I know “me” time is far and few between. But in order to maintain sanity, “me” time is necessary! Taking a bath, painting my nails, watching my favorite show or a movie alone, doing anything in silence feels so liberating. Going out to eat with a girlfriend or running to the store to buy myself a new outfit or even better…shoes, makes me feel happy and refreshed.

There is ALWAYS something to do and fitting in time for myself is absolutely a challenge. Being the organizer that I am, I pencil in “days off” or “Dawn time” as I would any other task or appointment. I consider it to be a very high priority and generally don’t budge unless it’s an emergency. I have no problem telling my friends or family “NO”, I can’t do something because I’m busy doing nothing that day. I don’t feel bad and they understand. Reason being….If Mommy’s not happy, nobody’s happy!

January 27, 2009 - Posted by | Time Management | , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Nice article. So many people forget to take time out of their hectic schedules to do nothing. This is a good reminder of why we should. Nice post.

    Desi

    Comment by Desi | January 30, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Desi,
      Thank you for the kind words.

      I think what often happens is people don’t know how to say no when it comes to doing things for others and they lose themselves in the mix. Before they know it they are stressed out, overwhelmed and depressed. That’s what happens to the mind when it’s on overdrive for too long. I have learned that for the sake of my well being I am a priority and others are just going to have to understand that I’m not Super Woman.

      Dawn

      Comment by dawnaturservice | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good for you! You recognized your need and you filled it. Super!

    Have you noticed how much more productive you are after your time off? My guess is that your productivity increases about 45 to 50 % So enjoy your time off. It’s good for your business! 🙂

    Comment by Kathryn Watson | February 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Yes, I definitely notice a difference in productivity after my brain has rested. My focus increases which allows me to knock the tasks out quicker. When I’m feeling burnt out sometimes, my brain just doesn’t provide any output. LOL

      Comment by dawnaturservice | February 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

