Dawn At Your Service’s Blog

Where Traditional Marketing Landed Me

I just fulfilled a 3 month contract with a client who actually lives locally, which is not very common in the Virtual Assistance industry (depending on how you market). When I began my VA business in April, I combined traditional and online marketing. On the traditional end, I built a mailing list for my target audience and sent brochures and business cards out. (Tip: Handwriting the envelopes increases the chance of it getting opened!). Initially I did not see a response (or ROI) so I decided it wasn’t worth my time and money to do traditional marketing. I was having much more success through forum participation and Craigslist which are both obviously free.

Needless to say, in late August I was contacted by a women who owns her own marketing business. (She does strictly traditional marketing.) She had received my brochure and held on to it. We met in person for lunch. She is the only client (not including family/friends) I’ve ever met in person. Virtual Assistants work remotely so I thought this was pretty cool! We clicked right away and a couple of weeks later we signed the contract.

She was great to work with. We had excellent communication, which is by far one of the most important aspects of this type of business relationship. I got the work done and even though I didn’t make her as much money as I would have liked, she was very happy with the work I did.

Her busy season is over now and I look forward to working with her again next year. But the best part is that she has been referring me left and right. She has invited me to a Chamber event she participates in so she could introduce me to her fellow small business owners and friends. And to top it off, she asked me to create an ad for my business that she could insert into her invoices for the next three months! How awesome is that?

I feel so blessed to have met her. I haven’t participated in traditional marketing since, but I think the couple of hundred dollars I spent was well worth it and I need to get back on that wagon!

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Marketing | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. All it takes is one. That one good contact makes all of the difference. Look at networking as a party and just go with the intention to have fun, meet some cool people and hang out. When you do you take the pressure off of yourself to sell something.

    I have make some great contacts at these events. I am writing a book with one, hosted a Retreat with another and of course have found a few clients along the way. 😉 I even drummed up business for my husband. Mostly I had a lot of fun!

    Comment by Kathryn Watson | February 18, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you for your comment Kathryn and most of all visiting my blog. 🙂

      I have a blast at most networking events. It feels funny to call it “work”.

      Dawn

      Comment by dawnaturservice | February 19, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

