Dawn At Your Service’s Blog

The WAH Transition Disappointment

Originally Written: September 18, 2008

I’ve been waiting so long for the day to come where I could finally run my Virtual Assistance business full time from home. It’s been approximately one week and I’ve encountered so many disappointments. The laundry never got done. The floors never got washed. And worst of all, rather than my wonderful (ex)babysitter playing patty cake and blowing bubbles with my 18 month old all day, Barney and Elmo have taken her spot while mommy is glued to the computer screen.

I know it’s only the first week and getting a routine going takes awhile. It’s wonderful not to have to wake my kids up from a cozy sleep to bring them to sitters through rain, snow and sleet. Only I question how to be the best mom I can be and run a successful business full time. MUIB Founder Jenn Rogers wrote a great article, “The Grass Sometimes Seems Greener on the Other Side” that really touches on the pros and cons of working from home.

It was wonderful to have breakfast, lunch and dinner with the girls. It was heartwarming to be there when they awoke, and went to bed. I took breaks often to cuddle on the floor, color or go for a walk. But I find a majority of the day I am working and the baby is watching t.v. I feel very guilty. We just can’t win as moms, can we?

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Work From Home | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Dawn,

    Great blog, with substance!

    I hear you! It’s tough to find a balance. One thing that has been working for me to is to bring out new toys each morning… and have crayons and paper handy to pull out for a treat.

    I try to interest Jasmine in blocks or something new each morning before I resort to the television.

    When all the toys are put away, or lost in a toy box, I find that the kids forget they have them… so rotating what’s out and ready for play helps me feel less guilty about the time that I’m working…

    Comment by Lori | November 14, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

