Dawn At Your Service’s Blog

Better Days

Originally Written: September 25, 2008

All changes in life are challenging. I always feel a sense of detachment when closing one door and opening another. These feelings result in my inability to see the bright side in newer situations. For some reason, if it isn’t some drastic accomplishment, I tend to notice the losses first rather than the gains.

While I worked my previous full time job, I worked third shift. Perhaps it would have been tolerable if my significant other didn’t work a job with crazy erratic hours as well. Often the kids were bounced from sitter to sitter. Several nights a week they had to sleep over at one of their grandmothers’ homes. It really hurt to put my kids through that, especially my oldest who had to go to school all day.

I took the negative and turned it into something positive by working hard towards building a VA (Virtual Assistant) business so I could put an end to the insanity once and for all. The adjustment has been very emotional and I’ve experienced disappointment. But I focused on the the things I lost rather than the things I accomplished.

I have finally begun to see the light. Yes, Barney may “babysit” a few hours each day, but my kids are at home every night sleeping in their own beds. They are getting adequate sleep and not being bounced around all over the place. My oldest daughter now has the ability to participate in the extracurricular activities she’s been wanting to do because I’m here to provide the transportation. I get to enjoy three meals a day with my little one. I give her all of her baths and change all of her diapers. I’m finally a full time mom. There is no better job in the world. There is no price tag on happiness and being here with them brings me all of the joy in the world. I wish I could freeze these moments.

Perhaps it’s human nature to initially focus on the negative during major life transitions, or maybe it’s just me. But I’m happy to have finally seen the light and feel the gratitude for the changes I have created for MY life! šŸ™‚

November 7, 2008 - Posted by | Work From Home | , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

